top of page

Freshman year: dorm sweet dorm

There's no doubt in my mind that summers were made for strolls along the new england coast, fire pits, star gazing and working a minimum wage job (it's all so thrilling those summer-time minimum wagers, aren't they?!) But this summer I've deiced to add something new to the list of summer classics: BLOGGING! The idea came from my super amazing aunt one afternoon when I was showing her the latest on pinterest (i.e. my dorm room). She was crazy positive about it and encouraged starting my own blog. So one year and 80k repins later my UW dorm room has more or less become a total hit on pinterest and here we are! Bloggin the hot and steamy summer months away.

Roomie and I

So here it goes..... FROSH YEAR "the start of the best four years of your life." If I had a penny for then number of times I heard that one that summer after graduating from high school.. "yeah right - LIFE IS SO FABULOUS". "How can a transitional year be better than my entire life so far?!" I thought. Funny enough, they were soo right, at least for now this first year has topped every other year by far!

There was not a single cloud in the sky as we arrived on campus and pulled around the back of my dorm, (which is pretty weird for Seattle in the fall, am I right?!) It was late September and we'd spent the night downtown in a super sketch hotel by the space needle. There was a booking error with our reservation at our original hotel and thankfully (?) this one had an open room. We arrived at 3am and were required to we had to leave our car parked in the back ally. Yes. The car full of essentially ALL of my life's belongings left parked in a back ally deep in the city, lets be hones though it wouldn't have been the end of the world if a 18 year old girl's dorm stuff had been stolen, but none the less I wasn't a fan of the thought. EEKKKKKK! But as (not) entirely expected we (and the car) made it through the night perfectly well and in got up early enough to to beat the traffic caused by the the Chinese President driving around Seattle. (I know! Of all days for Seattle crusin. "Excuse me Mr. President, but don't you know its move in day?" haha... I am terrible.) That was the longest 15 minute drive ever- I was absolutely drowning in excitement and anticipation; meeting my (AMAZING) roommate for the first time, seeing the dorm, unpacking... blah blah blah, I know, you get it. My dinky old mini-van was crammed with pillows, huge trash bags of clothes (half of which I promise I never even wore) etc. Three full cart-loads and a flat box of succulents later the minivan was empty and my mom & Dad and I began to unpack! SO FUN (for me at least, hah thanks mom and dad, you guys rock!)

This is the final product! LOVED how it turned out.

THE LIST Everything in the Photo:

Comforter Set (bed in a bag) - Walmart $35

Throw Pillows (teal set of 2) - Walmart $14

Large White Throw Pillow - T.J.Maxx - $20

Sliver Throw Cover - Ebay $1.99

White Rose Throw Cover - Ebay - $3.99

Teal Laptop Case - Amazon - $10

Fake plant/ivy - ebay - $1.99

Navy Blue Moroccan Lamp- Ross - $6

Walmart - String lights - $7

White Throw* - amazon bed sheet - $7.99

Wall Decor *

*DIM (did it myself ;)

So to everyone reading, best of luck this year! May your hotel reservations stay in tact and your year be full of incredible friends, great nights you may not always remember and memories to last you a lifetime. Oh - - and of course may you have the coziest, most "you" room in the building!

Till next time.

xx,

Jess

Jess's Design Tips

#1 

Go for BRIGHT! Bright colors keep you on the "happy side" and sometimes that is all the extra help  you need when it comes to chill time in the dorm after crazy long, busy days. 

#2

Do you! (okay, well do you plus a little inspiration) There are so many great ideas out there, find one you like and DIY the heck out of it! You'll thank yourself when you're done.

 

#3

Artwork. I must say, personally this has got to be one of the most important point of détail that takes the room from "neat" to "WOW!" Find some paintings that tie together all the colors in your color palate. Not only does it do a great job bringing things together in the room, it adds an extra homey feel to the area.

bottom of page